Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Cochesaurus Playground
27 octobre 2008

Being a Jack of all trades...

Hi :), the other day I was reading about the English phrase "Jack of all trades, master of none" (and really was a new phrase to me, in Spanish I've never heard something similar before) and I felt some how identified with this description, although a little bit later I found in Wikipedia something like this:

"The 'jack of all trades' part of the phrase was in common use during the 1600s and was generally used as a term of praise, rather than disparagement, as it is often used today. 'Jack,' in those days was a generic term for 'man.' Later the 'master of none' was added and the expression ceased to be very flattering. Today it is used to describe a person whose knowledge, while covering a number of areas, is superficial in all of them"

And now I don't feel that much of being a "Jack of all trades ...", and instead pursue being a focused person, but I can't...

And I can't because I got too deep in this sea of Web technologies and stuff, I can't because is what people pays me money to do and some people considers that is what I'm proficient at.

Somehow the last paragraph become true... I remember when I was 16 and attended to some art classes (I've learned a little bit of many techniques: pencil, pastel, watercolor, acrylics and oil paintings), I used to have a lot of fun in those classes, then 5 years later I stopped doing most of my art stuff and instead I started to do some tutorials in Macromedia Fireworks and then I applied some of this teachings in my own stuff. Then I started to learn programming things deeply in the university and then I got more comfortable doing programming stuff than things related to art. My brain switched sides of the force and it's not what I intended in the first place.

If I analyze this, it seems like I've lost a lot of my artistic side in the past 9 years and with a very pronounced exponential graphic curve in the latest years.

And nowadays something change, I've found Inkscape (thanks to Rore) and Gimp, and I saw what people can create with this cool graphic programs, and now I feel really enthusiast again! I like both programs but Gimp is somehow special to me, it's a program that for me is one of the closest experiences to my traditional art background, and I really like it because of that.

Finally I know that my designs and drawings (computer graphics and traditional ones) are not the best looking ones, but like Anne Frank said:

"And if I haven't any talent for writing books or newspaper articles, well, then I can always write for myself...I want to go on living after my death! And therefore I am grateful to God for giving me this gift, this possibility of developing myself and of writing, of expressing all that is in me"

Thanks for reading.

Sincerely,

Coche (72% Web developer, 16% computer graphics artist, 6% Watercolor painter and 6% Animator)

* I'll try to grab some percentage of the Web Developer thing and distribute it in the other 3, it definitely haves too much

** Like some of my previous posts I liked to add my tutorial after my "quick" introduction but this time I've written too much. The day after tomorrow, I'll post my Inkscape's Antenna tutorial, stay tuned!!

Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Publicité